Use MetaHub headless

I'm new to working with the MetaHub and MetaWear, and I'm working on a project where I need to run the MetaHub headless. Essentially, I want the MetaBase app to start automatically on boot, connect with the Metawear sensors and begin collecting data. I'm seeking guidance in how to configure the MetaHub to have the Metabase app start on boot.

Thanks.

Comments

• Use systemctl to setup system services.

• After investigating the systemctl options, I've gone through and created a service file (metabase_boot.service) with the following text:

[Unit]
    Description=Launch MetaBase st startup
    After=multi-user.target

[Service]
    ExecStart=/usr/bin/java /home/pi/Apps/MetaBase/metabase-config.json

[Install]
    WantedBy=multi-user.target

I then entered:

sudo systemctl daemon-reload
    sudo systemctl enable metabase_boot.service

When I reboot, it doesn't work to launch MetaBase at boot. Any suggestions?

• Have you tried running the ExecStart command in a terminal?

• Yes, when I do I get a 'Permission denied' message. Not sure where to go from here.

• Looking at the command again, that's not the right command to start MetaBase. Look at the README file on the desktop that explains how to start MetaBase.

• No, the command to start MetaBase from the terminal is 'sudo npm start -- --config metabase-config.json'. However, simply substituting what I do have in the .service file for this command doesn't do anything either. I've tried different configurations of the command given in the README file but nothing seems to be working.

• I reformatted the service section as follows, but still no success. As I said, I'm very unfamiliar with this type of work, so I could be missing anything.

[Service]
    ExecStart=/usr/bin/java --config metabase-config.json
    WorkingDirectory=/home/pi/Apps/MetaBase

• Check the system logs for any error messages from your service.

The readme does not mention "java" anywhere, not sure why you are calling it.