anyone using Android Studio?

Since I started off with Android Studio to learn app development, I'm sticking with it.

I imported the API as a non Android Studio project and used Refactor > Rename because the sample-app looks for MetaWearAPI. Anything else I would need to do? It built fine (far as I know, I'm a newbie). Does something need to be done to convert this project into a "library"?

When I try building the Sample App, I get a tonne of errors like 

Error:(35, 53) error: package com.mbientlab.metawear.api.MetaWearController does not exist
Error:(36, 34) error: package com.mbientlab.metawear.api does not exist
Error:(37, 45) error: package com.mbientlab.metawear.api.controller does not exist
Error:(38, 50) error: package com.mbientlab.metawear.api.controller.GPIO does not exist

Which seem to arise from the import lines in the java files.

Again, I'm a newbie with java and app design, so any help will be super.

Thanks!

Comments

• You need to add the metawear api to the java build path.  Source and jar files are available here:
  • Thanks Eric,
              Could I get more detail? Where in the Android Studio setup would I put the path. If I download the Metawear-AndroidAPI from github, how exactly should I proceed if I'm using A Studio rather than Eclipse?

Thanks
  • I'm going to try using a JAR to build the app in Android studio. I have a question about where I might find the metawearapi.jar. When I download from github and extract, I have a folder called Metawear-AndroidAPI-master.

The doc https://www.mbientlab.com/docs/MetaWearAndroidAPIGSGv1.0.pdf suggests that there would be a bin directory in the first level (after descending into) but there isn't. 

Is this .jar only expected to exist if one follows a build procedure in Eclipse or might there be a way to get there using Android Studio?

Thanks
  • I did this and now I get the .jar

Import the project into Eclipse