How to correct for Sensor physical mis-alignment?

edited January 2021 in General

Hello all
I am new to mbientlab and would appreciate comments on my development strategy and tech questions.

Planned App & Physical Deployment Model:
I need to develop an Android App to track the orientation of a User's head. The User will clip the sensor on top of her head (headband), perfectly aligned with real-world xyz orientation. I want to use the SensorFusion API and I have studied the "3D Cube" App - all ok there.

Issue: User Calibration to correct for misplacement of the physical sensor
I can't be sure that the User will position the physical sensor correctly, that is to say: perfectly flat on top of the head, perfectly aligned front/back with the front/back head centreline etc

So I plan a "Spatial Normalisation" step where I prompt the User "head level, face forward then press "Spatial Calibrate" button. At that point I will capture actual physical orientation data and subtract that from subsequent data to get my "normalised" data.

I have some questions:
1. I read about 'mbl_mw_sensor_fusion_reset_orientation()' - is this the one-line solution I need? I'm hoping I can call this when my User hits "Calibrate" in UI and thereafter automagically get data as if the sensor were perfectly physically positioned - am I right or close?
2. I can't find any API documentation for mbl_mw_sensor_fusion_reset_orientation() and I understand there's new firmware needed for this (1.5.1). When will mbl_mw_sensor_fusion_reset_orientation() be available for Java and is there some API doc I can look at to learn what it is and how to use it?

Thanks so much - all help much appreciated!

Comments

• Thanks!
    And how can I access the updated SDK for Java/Android please?
    Thanks

• You call that function?

• edited January 2021

@Laura said:
    You call that function?

Thanks you Laura

I can't seem to call that function in my Android (Java) App.