Question about connecting many sensors to a phone simultaneously vs. something like the MetaHub?

I have developed an that involves controlling a virtual avatar's lower body using anywhere from 3-7 MMC sensors. I find when we are only using 3 sensors my app works quite well but when we bump it up to 7 the connection is a lot more spotty and unless I increase the max connection interval for the sensors (causing a slower response time which is undesirable for our real-time application) the background android service tends to crash randomly. This hasn't been such a problem so far, but we are moving toward the stage of testing this app with some medical patients and other people outside our lab, and it is now important to make sure that things are stable.

i'm wondering if this is to be expected when connecting so many sensors to a phone (Samsung galaxy S8) or if it is more likely just poor coding on my part (I'm not a programmer by trade so it's likely that this is the case). If the former, would using something like the MetaHub as an intermediate device improve the performance?

Thanks,
MG

Comments

• edited September 2019

This has unfortunately absolutely nothing to do with us.

It's the Samsung galaxy S8 and other smartphones that have a connection bottleneck.

Keep in mind iOS restricts the # of connected devices, as does Android.

Also, the one 2.4Ghz antenna is shared between all devices AND WIFI! that's a lot on one tiny antenna!!! You're going to get lag and restrictions!

The thing is, smartphones were NEVER meant to be able to connect to multiple slave devices. You can google more about this if you are bored.

That's why you should use the Metahub, which is essentially just a mini linux computer (the raspberryPi) which has the flexibility and programmability (and scalability) to do what you want with it (like connect many slave devices).

• edited September 2019