a noob want to use kitkat to build a project. (helping..!!!)

Hi everyone,
I am doing a simple project with metawear, just want to get the data from accelerometer and do some calculation. So the procedure should be started from:

1: ask user to allow to open the Bluetooth of their smartphone, 
2: scan the available devices surrounding.(I want it scanning automatically after allowed and list all devices in a "small window")
3: feedback to user "connected" after tapping the correct one.
4: start to read the data from accelerometer of metawear.
5: convert to be a real acceleration.
7: do some calculation.

Is it correct?

It is my first time to use android studio and I don't have any experience with Java or other computer language. I will appreciate if you can teach me how to write the android code to access it step by step, I am just a newbie so I may need more your patience.

Thanks you so much and have a good day :)

Comments

• Yes, your steps outlined are correct.  

I'd first start with a Hello World app.  In other words, start a new project in Android Studio, walk through the wizard to get simple app running on your phone.  Once you feel confident, please read our Android Getting Started guide (http://docs.mbientlab.com/?page_id=40) to get up to speed on the MetaWear library.  The section on the Accelerometer module (http://docs.mbientlab.com/?page_id=40#post-95) explain how to interact with the accelerometer.

After that, check out some of our code, specifically the Accelerometer panel from the sample app and the SOSTrigger project for full code samples to study.
  • edited July 2015
    Hi Eric,

Thank you for your reply. So now I need to finish the Bluetooth part(open scan and connectd) for my project. and what I have known so far just is
     1. Layout is for user interface(so coding is for display or show to user)
     2. java.MainActivity is for implementation, do some calculations like how the app run and what the function is.