Track the velocity(or average velocity) of a basketball being dribbled

I'm trying to get the velocity of a dribbled basketball while someone is wearing the sensor on his or her wrist.

I'm a noob at best and i'm lost. I purchased a  metawear c. For a while now I've been trying to figure out a way to extract the velocity from the stream of data. To some extent I understand that the data received will show error. I have tried the V = V0 + (forms of acceleration * time), the data seems to be accumulating.

I have 3 questions.
1. Am I lacking an additionally sensor which would make my task astronomically easier?
2. Is there a way I can  get a rough estimate on an algorithm (example: Have a set time step like 0.1 sec and taking the average of the data between the time step) to get closer to an actual reading? or Kalman filter?
3. Am I asking the wrong questions because of a lack of knowledge?

Comments

• All inertial measurement units (to my knowledge) measure quantities in the reference frame of the sensor body. This means if the orientation of the sensor changes over time, so will the reference frame in which it records acceleration readings.

I'm guessing that you want velocity measurements in some fixed ('world') reference frame. One way to do this is to track the orientation of the device over time using angular velocity measurements from the gyroscope, then apply a change of basis transformation on the accelerometer samples to convert them from body frame to world frame.

After that you also need to subtract the acceleration due to gravity in the world frame -- if you choose the vertical axis of the world frame to be aligned with the direction of Earth's gravitational field (i.e. 'down'), this amounts to adding or subtracting 1g from the z axis depending on the reference frame orientation.