APP Template can't find my CPRO

edited August 2016 in Android
Hello,

I used the Android App Template to connect my Nexus 5X with my CPro but if I click "scan" no device is found, after I manually told the App the mac adress of my board it finally connects. I am new to Android programming and I can't find the code lines where the mac adress is read, because I want to enter a static adress, so that the app only can connect with my board?
Another problem is, to find the xml code, which sets the "MetaWear Android Starter" Headline in the layout?

edit: The MetaWear App from the App store can't find the board either, but in the past it worked, I don't know what happened!? 

Thanks! 

Comments

• Sounds like location permissions are disabled for the app.  You can manually enable that specific permission from the app settings page.

Follow this thread on SO for changing the app name.
  • The app got the location permission but it doesn't work, I already updated the App and the Firmware to the latet version but the problem still exsists.

Thanks, I changed the app name and the headline! 

btw: Has anyone informations about how to recongnize and count steps, I can't find alot about that?! 

• Can other apps, like the nRF Connect app find the board with a scan?

Have you checked the documentation?
  • The app had location permissions, but the location service on the smartphone in general was disabled....sorry, my fault.

I already checked the documentation and copied the configureStepDetection part in the ready() function and the other code in an onClick listener for a start button, is that correct or do I have to call the readStep Counter periodically? The .setMode generates a "cannot resolve method" error?!

public void ready() {
    try {
    accModule = mwBoard.getModule(Bmi160Accelerometer.class);

accModule.configureStepDetection()
    .setMode(Bmi160Accelerometer.StepSensitivity.NORMAL)
    .enableStepCounter()
    .commit();