I want to design a Virtual drum sticks. With a sensor attached to each one of the sticks. The stick

I'm moving this from the C++ section as this is more appropriate although, I'm looking, if possible, supporting this functionality using C++.
Please note that this is not an original idea, there are 2 Kickstarter projects about this but, I don't necessarily trust that they would be done to my standards as I have been a hardware/software developer my entire life. I'm just not familiar with the MetaMotionR or it's capabilities.

I want to design a Virtual drum sticks. With a sensor attached to each one of the sticks.
The stick module needs to be configured as BLE MIDI, with requires changing the UUID as well as setting of the GATT Characteristics.

Once this is accomplished, the iPad will see the device as a BT MIDI.

From there, I would need to create an application on each one of the stick modules that will detect impact and the force so that we know how hard has the stick hit the virtual drum or cymbal.

In order to determine if we have hit a virtual cymbal or a drum, we need to determine at the time of impact (using the accelerometer), the magnetic orientation of the module on the stick as well as the incline with respect to the horizontal pane.

Will all of this going on, we would also need a separate interface, SPI or I2C to receive data via a serial port in order to debug.

Does anyone know if it's possible meet all this requirements?

Philip

Comments

• The GATT services / characteristics cannot be modified with the stock firmware.  

MetaMotionR boards come with a 6-axis IMU and magnetometer.  You will have to analyze the data to characterize strikes and orientation.

What exactly are you debugging?  The boards are simply sensor boards that you command when to start and stop collecting data.
  • Hi Eric,
    I wanted to build the logic and conversion to MIDI logic directly into the board. That's why the debugging need.